State Court of Thomas County Schedule for Fine and Settlement

**Note** For Moving Violations there is also a Defensive Driving School that can be attended in order to Reduce the Points on your License. The Driving School must be completed before your Court Date in order for us to send to the state to reduce your points. You will need to send the Certificate of Completion with your money to the address below. If you live out of State, check with your state as to whether you can take a certified Driving School in your state or if you must take a certified class in Georgia. Check the Georgia Drivers Services Website for Approved Drivers Classes. Go to www.dds.ga.gov.

Tickets can be paid online at www.thomastix.com.

Drivers under the age of 21 who are convicted of a moving violation may be subject to a driver’s license suspension.

Speeding

5-10mph over the speed limit
$40.00
11-14mph over the speed limit
$125.00
15-24mph over the speed limit
$138.00
25-30mph over the speed limit
$173.00
31-35mph over the speed limit
$215.00
36mph over the speed limit
Must make a court appearance

Miscellaneous Traffic Fines

Suspended registration
$687.50
Cover over headlight/ obstructed headlights
$125.00
Defective equipment
$97.00
No light on bicycle
$125.00
Incorrect address on license
$125.00
Expired or without tag
$97.00
Expired or wrong class license
$97.00
Failure to dim lights
$125.00
Failure to use signal
$125.00
Failure to maintain control
$125.00
Failure to stop for a bus
$154.00
Failure to stop for a light/ sign
$167.00
Failure to yield fo an emergency vehicle
$154.00
Failure to yield right of way
$125.00
Following too close
$125.00
Illegal backing
$125.00
Illegal passing
$125.00
Illegal parking
$15.00
Illegal turning
$125.00
Impeding flow of traffic
$125.00
Improper crossing of railroad
$125.00
Improper mufflers
$125.00
Improper signs
$125.00
Improper tag or switching
$154.00
Laying drags (Scratching off)
$125.00
Littering
$125.00
Loud music/ noise
$100.00
Never having license
$687.50
No commercial license
$650.00
No insurance (If you did not have insurance on the date you were stopped)
$547.00
No vaccination for rabbies
$125.00
Pedestrian under the influence (Public drunkeness)
$125.00
Permitting unlicensed person to drive
$125.00
Off truck route
$125.00
Open container
$184.00

Seatbelt Violations

Birth to 5 years
$50.00
6 years old to 17 years old
$25.00
18 years old and over
$15.00
Tinted windows
$125.00
Too fast for conditions
$125.00
Weaving
$125.00
Without helmet or shield
$125.00
Without license on person (Only if valid proof of license is shown)
$19.00
Without proof of insurance (If proof of insurance on the day you were stopped is shown)
$40.00
Wrong side of the road
$125.00

State Mandated Fines for Interstate Tractor Trailers, Mobile Home Carriers, ETC. (These are only if GSP or Thomas County wrote the citation)

Insecure load
$154.00
Improper escort
$234.00
Motor fuel tax stamp (Not applied)
$154.00
Motor fuel tax stamp (Without stamp)
$302.00
No authority interstate
$302.00
No permit for wide load
$245.00
No trailer brakes
$302.00
No wide load signs
$154.00
No status of log book
$154.00
Overlength or overweight
$154.00
Pulling mobile home after hours
$120.00
Pulling mobile home without escort
$234.00
Unauthorized route
$154.00

Must Make Court Appearance to Settle

Attempting to elude
Fine set by Judge
Court cost for appearing in court
$125.00
Court cost to dismiss a case prior to court (Can only be done by person who took out warrant)
$125.00
Drag racing
Fine set by Judge

DUI

1st Offense
12 Months Probation
$837.00 Fine
40 Hours CSW
Attend DUI School (Min)
2nd Offense
12 Months Probation
$1438.00 Fine
30 Days CSW
Three Days Jail. Attend DUI School
$25 for picture in paper (min)
3rd Offense
12 Months Probation
$2331.00 Fine
30 Days CSW
15 Days Jail. Attend DUI School
$25 for picture in paper (min)
**Note**

DUI Driving School MUST be attended on any offense in order to get your license back after the Suspension Time. The DUI school is now required by the State to be attended on Possession of Marijuana Charges in order to keep your license (whether you were Driving a vehicle or not). The school may also be attended before court. The numbers are (229) 226-2167 or (229) 228-0511.

Possession of Marijuana Less than 1oz.
4 Months Probation
$585.00
Attend DUI School
Allow Search (min)
Reckless driving
$250.00
Revoked or suspended license
Min fine is $855.00, 2nd offense is $1000.00

Point Accumulation

The folowing information was obtained from the Georgia State Patrol office. If you have any questions regarding points please contact the GSP at (229) 225-4000.

Reckless driving
4 points
Unlawful passing of a school bus
6 points
Improper passing on a hill or curve
4 points
Speeding 15-18mph
2 points
Speeding 19-23mph
3 points
Speeding 24-33mph
4 points
Speeding 34mph or more
6 points
Disobedience of any traffic control device or traffic officer
3 points
Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage while driving
2 points
Failure to inadequately secure a load
2 points
All other moving violations
3 points
Child restraint (1st offense)
1 point
Child restraint (2nd offense)
2 points
Violation of wireless telecommunication device requirements
1 point
Improper use of designated travel lane 4th and subsequent offense
1 point
All other moving violations
3 points